Welcome to Bhagwan Mahaveer Jain Hospital

Emergency - 080 4087 5500

Ethical Committee for Human Research

BMJH’s dedicated research facilities have enhanced the hospital services through advancement in treatment protocols and newer technological intervention while not compromising on patient comfort and affordability. We have a strong and coherent ‘Ethics Committee on Human Research’ since 2005 that examines all Research Proposals, Clinical / Drug Trial Proposals and Dissertation Protocols prior to sanction and conduction. The committee with over 100 established proposals works rigorously to uphold the guidelines with no compromise on necessary safety requirements. The Ethics Committee is a very active body and closely monitors research activities in the hospital.

  • Clinical Trials
  • Drug Trials
  • Basic Sciences research studies and poster presentations
  • Dissertation Projects for postgraduate students
  • PhD thesis and assessments

An eminent electrical scientist who is also the ex-Vice Chancellor of a renowned technical university in Karnataka chairs the committee. The Committee vary broadly in its composition, with prominent members from inside and outside BMJH representing a variety of disciplinary and community perspectives. The committee includes:

No Name Designation Appointment Affilited Institution
1 Prof. H. P. Kincha Scientist Chairperson IISc, Bengaluru
2 Sri. Phoolchand Jain President, BMJH Non-Scientific Member (Lay Person) Bhagwan Mahaveer Jain Hospital
3 Dr. M. D. Marker Medical Director, BMJH Member Secretary Bhagwan Mahaveer Jain Hospital
4 Dr. H. J. Hrishikeshawan Pharmacologist and Clinical Affairs Scientific Member Dr. NRF, Bengaluru
5 Dr. Prakash K. Mehta Consultant OBGYN, BMJH Scientific Member Bhagwan Mahaveer Jain Hospital
6 Dr. G. R. Nagabhushan CMO, JNCASR Scientific Member JNCASR, Bengaluru
7 Sri. Prabhakar Social Scientist Non-Scientific Member (Lay Person) Nil
8 Sri. F. R Singhvi Consumer Protection Activist Non-Scientific Member (Legal Member) Nil
9 Dr. Preethi Adoni Dy. Med. Director, BMJH Scientific Member (Lady Member) Bhagwan Mahaveer Jain Hospital
10 Dr. Sunanda Kulkarni Consultant OBGYN Scientific Member (Lady Member) Retired Prof
11 Sri. V. Y. Kumar Advocate Non-Scientific Member (Legal Member) Karnataka High Court